PROTECTING BEES AND POLLINATING INSECTS

Aware of the importance of the natural ecosystem that is home to their orchards, all Mylord’ ​growers are committed to protecting bees and pollinating insects under the BEE FRIENDLY® Certification.

Created by an association of beekeepers, BEE FRIENDLY® is the certification for farmers committed to protecting pollinating insects. It guarantees agricultural practices that are respectful of both domestic and wild bees. Mylord’ growers implement a number of actions designed to protect and respect the pollinators.

  • They provide the pollinators with “home and food”,
  • They preserve and develop biodiversity by planting diversified hedgerows, installing habitats, installing water points and protecting existing ones,
  • They reduce products that are harmful for pollinating insects,
  • They create partnerships with local beekeepers, schools and the general public, to increase knowledge and raise awareness.

STRENGTHENING BIODIVERSITY ...

Mylord’ growers have created a genuine ecosystem in and around their orchards, to favour the healthy development of the secondary fauna and the numerous inhabitants to be found in the soils. A number of actions and adaptations have been implemented by Mylord’ producers to provide them with shelter:

  • Nest boxes for tits, insect hotels,
  • Roosts for bats, perches for birds of prey, etc.,
  • Flower strips and multi-variety hedgerows adapted to our local conditions. These structures act as windbreaks but will also constitute a favourable habitat for the development and maintenance of secondary fauna and pollinators.

These actions as a whole will limit the arrival and the proliferation of pests, which are generally less numerous when there is a great diversity of plants.

... NOURISHING AND PROTECTING IT

The taste quality of our apples also depends on the good structure of our soils. Healthy soil equates to apple trees that develop well. To improve and maintain the life of the soil, Mylord’ growers enrich it by adding organic matter.

Throughout the season, winter included, they spread green waste compost around the base of the trees to provide all the nutrients necessary to improve soil fertility:

  • Regeneration of the land, with more living soils,
  • Disease protection for our trees, etc.

Mylord’ growers analyse regularly the activity and the life found in the soils. They are home to thousands of living things that make an essential contribution to their correct functioning: aeration, good water circulation, decomposition of all the organic matter (branches, leaves, composts) to transform them into nutritional elements. To study this life underground, our orchards are open all year round to agronomists and doctoral students.

OUR COMMITMENTS TO NATURE

Since 2018, all our farms and holdings are certified level 3 High Environmental Value, the highest level of certification. This certification covers all our activities to maintain biodiversity by guaranteeing non-producing areas in all agricultural activity. We help nature to do its job, and therein lies the essence of our profession.

Since 2019, a large section of our orchards have been certified BEE FRIENDLY®, a certification designed to encourage practices that respect bees and pollinating insects. The aim is to raise the awareness of producers and companies manufacturing and distributing everyday products of the high stakes involved in ensuring the survival of bees.

Mylord’ growers are committed to eco-friendly production methods that share the same set of principles: producing healthy, flavoursome and quality fruits with environmentally friendly production methods that respect biodiversity in the orchards.

As part of our ongoing environmental commitments, in 2018 we joined the “New Countryside Collective” (Collectif Nouveaux Champs). This is a grass-roots movement of producers committed to agricultural and environmental progress. Our actions are transparent, thereby strengthening everyone’s trust. Today we are in a position to offer apples with Zero Pesticide Residue. This is our contribution to the sustainable development challenges.

Mylord’ growers are committed to Organic Agriculture. Aware of the advantages that come from innovation in variety, they are constantly looking for naturally “ORGANIC” varieties.

PROTÉGER LES ABEILLES ET LES INSECTES POLLINISATEURS

Conscients de l’importance de l’écosystème naturel qu’abrite leurs vergers, tous les producteurs Mylord’​ se sont engagés à protéger les abeilles et les insectes pollinisateurs au côté du Label BEE FRIENDLY®.

Créé par une association d’apiculteurs, BEE FRIENDLY® est le label des agriculteurs engagés pour la protection des pollinisateurs. Il garantit des pratiques agricoles respectueuses des abeilles domestiques et sauvages. Les producteurs Mylord’ mettent en place plusieurs actions, permettant de protéger et respecter les pollinisateurs.

  • Ils fournissent aux pollinisateurs le gîte et le couvert,
  • Ils préservent et développent la biodiversité avec la plantation de haies diversifiées, l’installation d’habitats, l’installation de points d’eau et la protection des existants,
  • Ils réduisent les produits nocifs pour les insectes pollinisateurs,
  • Ils créent des partenariats avec des apiculteurs locaux, des écoles et le grand public pour accroître leurs connaissances et sensibiliser.

Renforcer la biodiversité ...

Les producteurs Mylord’ ont su créer un véritable écosystème dans et autour de leurs vergers, propice au bon développement de la faune auxiliaire et des nombreux habitants qui se trouvent dans les sols. Plusieurs actions et aménagements ont été mis en place par les producteurs Mylord’ pour les abriter :

  • Des nichoirs à mésanges, hôtels à insectes,
  • Des gîtes à chauve-souris, perchoirs à rapaces, etc…,
  • Des bandes fleuries et des haies de plusieurs essences adaptées à nos conditions locales. Ces structures servent de brise-vent mais vont aussi permettre de constituer un habitat favorable au développement et au maintien des auxiliaires ou des pollinisateurs.

Toutes ces actions vont limiter la venue et la prolifération des ravageurs qui sont en général, moins importants lorsqu’il y a une grande diversité végétale.

... LA NOURRIR ET LA PROTÉGER

La qualité gustative de nos pommes dépend aussi de la bonne structure de nos sols. Un sol en bonne santé, ce sont des pommiers qui se développent bien. Pour améliorer et maintenir la vie du sol, les producteurs Mylord’ l’enrichissent avec l’apport de matière organique.

Ainsi, tout au long de la saison y compris l’hiver, ils mettent du compost de déchets verts aux pieds des arbres pour apporter tous les nutriments nécessaires afin d’améliorer la fertilité des sols :

  • Régénération des terres, sols plus vivant,
  • Protection de nos arbres contre les maladies etc,…

Les producteurs Mylord’ analysent régulièrement l’activité et la vie qui se trouvent dans les sols. Ils abritent des milliers d’êtres vivants qui vivent et apportent une contribution essentielle à leur bon fonctionnement : aération, bonne circulation de l’eau, décomposition de toutes les matières organiques (branches, feuilles, compostes) pour les transformer en éléments nutritifs. Pour étudier cette vie souterraine, nous ouvrons toute l’année nos vergers à des agronomes et des doctorants.

Nos engagements pour la nature

Depuis 2018, toutes nos exploitations ont été certifiées Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3, le plus haut niveau de certification. Cette certification couvre l’ensemble de nos activités pour préserver la biodiversité en garantissant des zones vierges de toute activité agricole. Nous accompagnons la nature pour faire son travail et c’est là ou notre métier prend tout son sens.

Depuis 2019, une grande partie de nos vergers ont été labélisés BEE FRIENDLY®, une certification qui vise à favoriser les pratiques respectueuses des abeilles et des insectes pollinisateurs. Il s’agit de sensibiliser les producteurs et les entreprises fabriquant et distribuant des produits de la vie quotidienne à l’enjeu majeur que représente la survie de l’abeille.

Les producteurs Mylord’ sont engagés dans une démarche de production écoresponsables partageant la même éthique : produire des fruits sains, savoureux et de qualité avec des méthodes de production respectueuses de l’environnement et de la biodiversité dans les vergers.

Dans la continuité de nos engagements environnementaux, nous sommes entrés en 2018 dans le « Collectif Nouveaux Champs ». C‘est un mouvement citoyen de producteurs engagés pour le progrès agricole et environnemental. Nous agissons en transparence pour renforcer la confiance de tous. Nous sommes aujourd’hui capable de proposer des pommes qui présentent Zéro Résidus de Pesticides. Nous participons aux enjeux du développement durable.

Les producteurs Mylord’ sont engagés dans l’Agriculture Biologique. Conscient des avantages que nous procurent l’innovation variétale, ils sont sans cesse à la recherche de variétés qui soient naturellement « BIO »